Wednesday, March 24, 2010

TOS Crew: Children's Bible Hour

 As part of the TOS Homeschool Crew, we were sent the 4 books from the Seasons of Faith Series from Children's Bible Hour. I have been familiar with Children's Bible Hour, because of their Keys for Kids program. This is something that we have been using in our homeschool for years. So I was interested to see what these books were going to be.

These books are adapted from radio scripts from Children's Bible Hour.
  In our homeschool we have often used read alouds and audio books and old time radio shows as a way to enhance and expand our learning. So, even at first glance these books seem to be a good fit.

CBH Ministries gear their products to the 6-12 year old. And I think that these books fall right into the age category.

The books are paperback and glossy. The illustrations are top notch!

The books are narrated by Uncle Charlie, when I listened to the books, they reminded me of the old time radio shows in their style, except the quality is much better! No scratching sounds!!

In the Seasons of Faith series the children are encouraged to learn about their faith in God. Each book in the series focuses on a season of faith-development.  There is a little tree in the corner of the book, that indicates the season this story is depicting.  And on the back of the book, there is a key that describes each season.

Spring: This is a time when people experience new like in Christ.  Faith develops and Christians begin to share the Salvation message with others.

The Seasons of Faith begins with Race With Midnight.

Summer: The season when faith grows under God's love and care. Fruit is witnessed and triumphs are gained through applying His Word and striving to be the best we can be in Christ.

'You can't Come in' is written for the summer season.

Autumn: Times of struggle and temptation, peer pressure, making mistakes, and scary transitions happen in this season.  Even though it might seem like nothing good can come from this time, God has promised is He will be there.  He will teach us how to forgive and then grow in grace.

In this season you will find the story; Seventy Times Seven.

Winter: This season is the most difficult.  Deep struggles, mourning, trying to make it through difficult times, or the death of a loved on can pull us away from God. He teaches is to lean on Him for comfort and peace.

The series concludes with the story, 'Braving the Storm'.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 tells us, "To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven"

I found each of these books to be a story that not only did my children relate to, but my heart was ministered to while listening to these stories with my children as well.

Another way that we decided to use these books was to help my dyslexic students. What was nice about these books is that the words in the story were conversational, not babyish in anyway.

So we used this to have them read along with to help with word recognition, as well as, to learn how to read with proper inflection, with is something they sometimes struggle in.

You can visit CBH Ministries to purchase individual books for $10 each or the entire set for $40. If you purchase the set between March 17th and April 15, 2010, they are offering FREE SHIPPING!
Simply use the code FREESHIPAPR15.

You can also find free study questions available at their site.

Please don't forget to visit the crew blog to see what my crew mates thought of this product.

I was sent the products reviews in this post for free in exchange for my honest opinion. The above post has fulfilled my obligation.

No comments:

Post a Comment